Leadership

.

We are a community that thrives under strong leadership and a spirit of volunteerism. The vitality of JCOGS depends on the energy and enthusiasm of our member volunteers, along with our dedicated staff. Together, our full-time rabbi, special committees, and board of trustees work together to lead our organization into the future.

Rabbi David Fainsilber

Rabbi David and his family joined our community in 2013. He and his wife Alison Link and their sons, Adar, Yonah, and Hersh, live in the greater Stowe area, and have brought a surge of energy and spirit to JCOGS. Our Jewish center has — and will continue to — benefit greatly from having a full-time Rabbi who is an active, engaged member of the greater community. You may spot Rabbi David and his family snowshoeing the Notch, biking on the Lamoille Rail Trail, or schmoozing at the Farmers’ Market.

Rabbi David enhances JCOGS with his love of music, focus on family and youth, and warm, pastoral presence. Along with weekly musical Shabbat services, he offers a regular Torah study and other adult-education classes, and has been instrumental in the expansion of our Religious School and year-round family programs.

Rabbi David’s religious education spans both Canada and the United States. He grew up in Montreal and earned an honors degree in Religious Studies from the University of British Columbia. He was ordained in 2014 at the pluralistic Rabbinical School of Hebrew College in Newton, Mass.

Board of Trustees

The board of trustees is elected by our membership and is responsible for the overall management of JCOGS, including our educational, religious, and social programming. We’re deeply appreciative of their service to our community.

Trustees

Steve Berson, Emeritus Steve Berson, Emeritus  sbberson@gmail.com
Candace Elmquist   candace.elmquist@jcogs.org
Rabbi David Fainsilber, Ex Officio* Rabbi David Fainsilber, Ex Officio*  rabbidavid@jcogs.org
Ron Feinstein* Ron Feinstein*  ron@ronfeinstein.com
Lynne Gedanken, Vice President & Treasurer*  gedanken@jcogs.org
Nancy Krakower, Emeritus  nancykrakower@gmail.com
Steve Lichtenstein, Emeritus  sflichtenstein18@gmail.com
Priscilla Minkin, Vice President & Secretary*  priscilla.minkin@jcogs.org
Emily Rosenbaum, President*  emily.rosenbaum@jcogs.org
Marvin Rosenbloom, Trustee/CFJCOGS  m_rosenbloom@yahoo.com
Rita Schneps  rita.schneps@jcogs.org
Edee Simon-Israel  edee.simonisrael@jcogs.org
Matt Yoskowitz  matt.yoskowitz@jcogs.org

Ayla Oshkello, Youth Intern  ayla.oshkello@jcogs.org

*Current Executive Committee Member